Updated National Dietary Guidelines for January 2016

added sugar foods, Venincasa Dental, dietary guidelines

added sugar foods, Venincasa Dental, dietary guidelinesThe United States Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) posted their newest 2015-2020 Dietary Guidelines on January 7, 2016. Most notable was their specific recommendation to limit added sugars to less than 10% of our caloric intake per day. These added sugars include sugars and syrups added to processed or prepared foods and beverages. The added sugars include brown sugar, corn syrup, dextrose, fructose, honey, lactose, maple syrup, molasses, nectars, and sucrose. These added sugars are most commonly found in foods like soft drinks, candy, pastries, ice cream, and other sweets.
The reason why the HHS made this more detailed guideline on added sugars was because of the health problems associated with these added sugars. These health problems include tooth decay, cardiovascular disease, obesity, type 2 diabetes, and some cancers. Moreover, these added sugars have no essential nutrients. As a result, people must add to their caloric intake in order to perhaps obtain more essential nutrients.
The HHS did offer some guidelines for decreasing these added sugars. Their guidelines included eating more vegetables, more whole fruits and whole grains, eating fat-free or low fat dairy products, eating more seafood and lean meats, and choosing plant oils like canola, corn, olive, and peanut oils.
For more information on national dietary recommendations, we invite you to follow another HHS link.
If you are interested in some information on our preventive-oriented, patient-centered, and value-conscious dental practice, we invite you to follow this link.
If you are interested in making an appointment with us, please give us a call at (972) 250-2580.

Share This Post

Share on facebook
Share on linkedin
Share on twitter
Share on email